Concert places

For press

About festival

History of festival

Aina Kalnciema



Anima Eterna


Anima Eterna

Anima Eterna Brugge is a collective of loyal, passionate and highly professional musicians who, within the clear boundaries of separate projects, try to find the most interesting interpretation of our musical heritage. Anima's repertoire stretches from Monteverdi to Gershwin. The orchestra pioneers in historical interpretations of 19th and 20th century music.

Five to eight times a year, the musicians of Anima Eterna Brugge flock together to unveil a piece of musical history. Research, respect for the original composition, historical instruments and the dedication of every individual musician make up the pillars of Anima's working method. With these ingredients, we create our trademark: a clear, transparent sound that allows any listener to recognize the orchestra in a breath's time.

Anima actively takes part in the protection of our musical heritage by ensuring that the expertise of our musicians is passed on to the next generation as well as by organizing and / or supporting educational initiatives for young audiences. Anima explores music's past and plays its present, to send it off into the future: alive.


Anima Eterna Brugge is an orchestra which was founded by Jos van Immerseel in 1987, and which is based in Bruges. Depending on its repertoire (which ranges from Monteverdi to Gershwin), it numbers from 7 to 80 musicians.

Anima Eterna recreates early (and not so early) music with a view to approximating as closely as possible the composer’s original intentions. Building on a combination of research and passionate musicianship, we have rediscovered many highlights of the classical catalogue, from Mozart’s piano concertos over Strauss’ waltzes to Ravel’s Bolero.

In the exploratory phase which precedes each project, we find out which instruments inspired a composer, and how they may have sounded. In addition, we explore such variables as playing technique, pitch, tempo, and orchestral balance, but also other parameters which impact the sound of a composition, such as the acoustics of the hall in which it was premiered or subsequently played.

While this investigative attitude determines the essence of our approach, an equally (if not more) important factor is the curiosity, the passion, and the exceptional commitment of our musicians, who all are acknowledged specialists in their field. It is through the continuous interaction between.


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)

Zwei Sinfonien (Hamburg 1773):
Sinfonie nr. 2 B-Dur; Wq.182/2
11’      Str: 33211                              

Sinfonie nr. 4 A Dur; Wq 182/4
13’      Str: 33211

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Konzert in B für Fagott und Orchester

Fagott, Jane Gower
18’      0201/2000/-/str33211

Josef Haydn (1732-1809)
Sinfonie nr 57 D Dur (Esterhazy 1774)
24‘      0201/2000/-/str(33211)

Baha muzikas fonds, Hipokrata iela 35-32, LV-1079, Riga, Latvija, talr.: 29208181, e-pasts: